Services for Students with Disabilities

Burt Black Memorial Scholarship

Managed through the Ann Arbor Area Community Foundation (AAACF), this scholarship provides two $2,000 awards each year to University of Michigan students with learning disabilities (not ADHD) or physical disabilities who embody the qualities of optimism, determination, courage, and a zest for life. 

This application is open from August 27th to September 27th and closes at midnight.


Summer internship at Center for Strategic & International Studies

Are you intersted in a training, mentoring, and paid internship program for young people with learning and related disabilities? Based in Washington, D.C., our office has a few Senate internships as well as a fantastic one at CSIS (The Center for Strategic & International Studies) for students interested in international affairs. As a reminder, our applicants MUST have a diagnosed learning or attention issue.

Craig H. Neilsen Foundation Scholarship Program

The Craig H. Neilsen Foundation is committed to enabling students living with spinal cord injury (SCI) to receive affordable, quality educational opportunities and to eliminate barriers for academic success. Eligible University of Michigan students (Ann Arbor, Dearborn and Flint campuses) can apply for the Neilsen Scholarship Program for grants that may support students' various finances, including tuition and many other fees.

This scholarship is currently closed.

U-M Ross Business School | Friedland Family Scholarship

The Ross Financial Aid Office is proud to offer the Friedland Family Goldman Gives Scholarship to a Ross Full Time BBA Sophomores, Juniors, or Senior student that is registered with Services for Students with Disabilities, with either Dyslexia or another Language Learning Disability. This scholarship will be awarded to one person for 2018-2019 in the amount of $5,000. With possibility for renewal.