Services for Students with Disabilities

Campus Alerts and Emergency Notification Tools

In case of an actual emergency, call the Ann Arbor Police Department at 9-1-1.

Campus administrators use a variety of ways to notify people of a campus emergency.

The U-M Campus Alerts system includes:


Global Michigan | Disabilities Abroad

Researching the climate for people with disabilities around the world is an important part of deciding where you will travel. Attitudes and laws surrounding physical mobility, mental illness, and chronic conditions will vary depending on your destination and it is essential that you have an understanding of the disability rights in your host country. Use this page to explore considerations, opportunities, and challenges of traveling abroad with a disability.

 


RecSports | Empowerment Self-Defense Workshops

Empowerment Self Defense Class in partnership with Recreational Sports Intramural+ and DPSS. Our self-defense workshop takes a holistic approach to self-protection, emphasizing awareness and assertiveness skills as well as physical and verbal strategies to counter violence. The goal is to leave you better equipped to deal with everything from harassment to potentially violent people to sexual assault. Participants will take part in verbal exercises, physical drills and discussion.


Respect ABILITY | Training for Female College Students with Disabilities and Their Allies

Date: Saturday, April 6, 2019
Time: 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM

Are you a female college student with a disability or an ally to one?  Are you ready to learn new skills to advocate for yourself and others? Are you interested in becoming a more effective leader in your community? Do you want to make New York City a better place for yourself, your loved ones and the next generation? Then join us as we advance the empowerment of female college students with disabilities, bringing the lens of inclusion and equality to NYC’s civic life.

Can’t attend in-person? RSVP for the webinar: bit.ly/2Fj9Md0
Webinar Start Time: 1:15 p.m. ET / 12:15 p.m. CT / 11:15 a.m. MT / 10:15 a.m. PT

Learn more about our New York training series and apply to attend in-person: https://www.respectability.org/ra-nywf/


Low-Cost Health Insurance for U-M Students

U-M offers a low-cost, comprehensive, voluntary health insurance plan for the students on our campuses through Aetna Student Health.  The annual premium for an individual student during the 2018-19 plan year is only $2084. 


Pages