Services for Students with Disabilities

Craig H. Neilsen Foundation Scholarship Program

The Craig H. Neilsen Foundation is committed to enabling students living with spinal cord injury (SCI) to receive affordable, quality educational opportunities and to eliminate barriers for academic success. Eligible University of Michigan students (Ann Arbor, Dearborn and Flint campuses) can apply for the Neilsen Scholarship Program for grants that may support students' various finances, including tuition and many other fees.

Scholarship is now closed.

Giving to SSD

Want to support SSD in its various endeavors? The following funding areas are set up to encourage the growth and involvment of students with disabilities at the University. Donate today!

Wesley Smith Memorial Award

The Wesley Smith Memorial Award is an annual award available to all undergraduate and graduate students who are deaf or hard of hearing. Each year, one recipient will receive a $500 cash award in recognition of curricular and co-curricular success at the University of Michigan.  

This application is now closed.

Saul and Shirley Lederer Merit Award

Two merit scholarships have been established by Saul and Shirley Lederer to honor their grandson Adam Miller. This award is offered to students who have hearing, visual, and mobility disabilities. Two recipients are chosen annually for awards of $1,000 each.

This application is now closed.

Burt Black Memorial Scholarship

Managed through the Ann Arbor Area Community Foundation (AAACF), this scholarship provides two $2,000 awards each year to University of Michigan students with learning disabilities, ADHD or physical disabilities who embody the qualities of optimism, determination, courage, and a zest for life. 

Applications are due no later than Sunday, September 26, 2021 at 11:59pm.